Cornwall & The Counties Community Futures Development Corporation
Retourner à nos articles

Projets PDEO approuvés 2017-2018

mercredi 29 novembre 2017


Développement des affaires

Clean-All
Sommaire du financement : ce projet cherche à investir dans les filtres de type « electrodust », la plus récente technologie en matière de filtres d’air. Clean All a observé une augmentation de la demande de ces produits, ce qui pourrait sensiblement augmenter la qualité des produits qu’offre l’entreprise. Elle entend centraliser la production, la mise en marché et les ventes.
Résultats : le projet permettra à Clean All de s’adapter à la demande et de profiter d’une occasion pour diversifier ses ventes et renforcer sa division des filtres. L’entreprise veut devenir le principal fournisseur de filtres de qualité dans la région. Cette initiative créera trois emplois à temps plein durables.
Cout du projet : 130 325 $/PDEO 30 000 $

Humble Beginning Brewing Company
Sommaire du financement : HBBCo. en est à la deuxième phase de son plan de lancement. L’entreprise veut compléter ses installations, obtenir les permis gouvernementaux requis, faire de la mise en marché et embaucher une autre personne à temps plein et deux employés à temps partiel. La brasserie entend créer une marque forte et veut offrir des visites guidées avec des entreprises partenaires. L’entreprise vendra ses produits en cruche plutôt qu’en bouteille ou en canette de façon à se différencier.
Résultats : la brasserie devrait contribuer au secteur touristique local en offrant un produit de qualité et des installations qui attireront des visiteurs de passage dans SDG. Idéalement, HBBCo. mettra au point trois brassins qui viennent compléter l’offre dans SDG. L’objectif premier est d’établir une marque connue bien acceptée sur le marché local
Cout du projet : 130 000 $/PDEO 25 000 $

Ard Ri- Eleanor McGraw
Sommaire du financement : l’organisme veut installer une yourte (hébergement extérieur à longueur d’année) qui offrira aux visiteurs une expérience unique sur une ferme canadienne. Des activités comme la randonnée, le ski de fond et la moto seront offertes sur place. Les fonds seront principalement associés à des efforts de marketing et de promotion.
Résultats : ce projet unique fera connaitre la région par le tourisme et renforcera l’intérêt pour l’agriculture et l’écotourisme, tout en appuyant le patrimoine agricole. Si l’établissement continue de croitre tel que prévu, il créera beaucoup plus d’emplois que les deux emplois créés dans le cadre de cette phase.
Cout du projet : 226 626 $/PDEO 10 000 $

Ridgewood Industries
Sommaire du financement : réalisation de deux dépenses en capital qui permettront à l’entreprise d’augmenter ses ventes annuelles de 15 millions $, d’améliorer l’efficacité de sa main-d’œuvre, de rehausser la productivité, d augmenter la capacité de production et d’offrir une meilleure valeur aux clients. Les couts admissibles comprennent deux colleuses de bandes de finition doubles (équipement) et leur installation.
Résultats : en répondant à l’augmentation de la demande provenant du marché américain, en augmentant l’efficacité et en réduisant les couts, Ridgewood répondra de façon optimale à la demande et améliorera la rentabilité tout en créant sept emplois à temps plein.
Cout du projet : 969 000 $/PDEO 84 000 $

Cooke Scale
Sommaire du financement : Cooke Scales cherche à embaucher deux techniciens et un administrateur pour aider à la transition pour faire croitre l’entreprise. Ce faisant, le propriétaire pourra s’orienter vers un rôle de gestion au sein d’Evoweigh et laisser les responsabilités quotidiennes au nouveau technicien. La création d’emploi est à la base de ce projet, de même que de nouvelles occasions suscitées par un partenariat avec Active Scale et sa société sœur Evoweigh Inc.
Résultats : le projet devrait faciliter la transition de croissance de Cook Scales. Les propriétaires ont souligné que les emplois créés sont durables et que d’autres devraient s’ajouter. L’expansion du talent de l’entreprise est essentielle à leur capacité de croitre au rythme souhaité.
Cout du projet : 138 520 $/PDEO 30 000 $

Homestead Organics
Sommaire du financement : le but du projet est d’installer un réservoir de garde et une structure verticale à Morrisburg pour le chargement en vrac des camions. La structure comprendra aussi des cellules de chargement pour peser le contenu du réservoir afin de mesurer avec exactitude le chargement selon la commande du client et de peser le produit lors du chargement. Le réservoir d’expédition en vrac augmentera aussi l’efficacité du transport de produits en vrac localement. Pour le moment et de façon limitée, l’entreprise utilise un processus très long qui emmagasine le produit dans des bacs de réception en vrac puis le transfère dans les camions avec le système de manutention pneumatique des grains.
Résultats : la réussite de ce projet permettra à Homestead Organics de percer les marchés étrangers, ce qui augmentera les ventes, les marges de profit et sa présence à l’étranger. Le projet augmentera aussi les ventes des fermiers locaux d’au moins 745 000 $, pour la seule récolte de soya de 2017.
Cout du projet : 69 185 $/PDEO 10 000 $

Upper Canada Creamery
Sommaire du financement : Upper Canada Creamery investit dans de l’équipement à la fine pointe qui lui permettra de devenir la première et la seule usine laitière biologique en Ontario à détenir plus de deux permis de production (lait, yogourt, fromage). La crèmerie fournit actuellement Upper Canada Village et compte utiliser ce solide partenariat pour promouvoir le patrimoine et les initiatives touristiques locaux. L’équipement comprend des cuves, des tables de travail, des pressoirs, un moulin à caillé, des pompes, etc.
Résultats : le financement ajoutera deux nouveaux postes à temps plein au cours des deux prochaines années, suscitera l’expansion de la gamme de produits et l’amélioration du contrôle de qualité. Ceci rehaussera le profil de l’agriculture biologique dans SD & G et pourrait contribuer à la création d’emplois à l’avenir.
Cout du projet : 174 705 $/PDEO 20 000 $

Bourgon Construction
Sommaire du financement : l’entreprise fera l’acquisition d’une station totale POS 180 de HILTI qui permet de réaliser de façon rapide et avec exactitude divers types d’implantation et de mesures comme les positions 2D et 3D sur le chantier ; l’implantation des coffrages, les positions d’excavation et les points d’ancrage sur les planchers et les plafonds ; l’implantation de pentes simples ou doubles et l’implantation et le transfert des lignes de contrôle de bâtiment. En jumelant cet outil sophistiqué au PROFIS Implantation de HILTI et à une formation professionnelle, Bourgon Construction pourra réaliser les implantations plus rapidement et avec plus de précision tout en réduisant grandement les couts. Les services d’implantation sont actuellement impartis.
Résultats : Bourgon Construction pourra dorénavant réaliser les fonctions d’implantation, de mesure et d’arpentage de façon plus efficace à l’aide de cet outil. Puisqu’un employé s’occupera de cette fonction à l’interne, l’entreprise pourra mieux gérer le contrôle de la qualité et réduire les couts tout en créant un poste de haute technologie dans la région de Cornwall.
Cout du projet : 39 956 $/PDEO 8 000 $

Morbern
Sommaire du financement : ce projet absorbera les couts du programme direction croissance de la BDC (programme sur trois ans). La BDC sélectionne des entreprises à croissance rapide afin de les conseiller et de former les équipes de direction au développement du leadership, à la méthodologie de gestion stratégique ainsi qu’à l’élaboration de plans d’action et à leur implantation. Ces conseils et cette expertise aideront à la croissance de l’une des entreprises les plus innovatrices de Cornwall. Ce projet particulier touche notamment à l’expansion sur les marchés américains et internationaux et à l’élargissement de la portée mondiale de l’entreprise.
Résultats : ce projet permettra à Morbern d’avoir accès aux meilleurs programmes d’encadrement et de mentorat d’affaires au Canada. L’entreprise pourra ainsi poursuivre sa croissance et se maintenir en tant que l’une des entreprises les plus solides et les plus novatrices de Cornwall. Elle pourra continuer de jouer son rôle en tant qu’employeur à haut volume et à salaires élevés.
Cout du projet : 200 000 $/PDEO 72 000 $

Surgeson Electric
Sommaire du financement : l’entreprise cherche à implanter un système ERP qui permettra d’intégrer les logiciels de production, de comptabilité et d’administration, ce qui augmentera l’efficacité à l’échelle de l’entreprise et permettra une meilleure compréhension des couts associés et des temps de production. Ce système comprend aussi l’implantation d’un solide protocole de contrôle de la qualité et assure le suivi de tous les essais et de l’exécution. Le financement obtenu par le PDEO aidera à l’achat et à l’implantation du système ERP.
Résultats : l’implantation d’un système ERP permettra à l’entreprise d’être plus concurrentielle et efficace. Le système ERP servira d’assise à la réalisation de plus d’activités le long de la chaine de valeur à l’interne, comme la fabrication et les inspections. Cette transition ouvrira la porte à la certification CSA pour la fabrication de panneaux de contrôle, ce qui rehaussera la rentabilité et le nombre d’emplois que peut créer l’entreprise.
Cout du projet : 212 175 $/PDEO 10 000 $

Sigmapoint
Sommaire du financement : SigmaPoint a récemment investi 750 000 $ pour une nouvelle chaine de production technologique qui permet à l’entreprise de produire des prototypes de façon efficace et concurrentielle. Il s’agissait de la première étape vers l’offre de services complets de prototypage à sa clientèle pour éventuellement offrir ces mêmes services à des clients potentiels. Ce projet aidera à l’augmentation de la capacité et à la croissance future. Dans le cadre de la planification stratégique de SigmaPoint, qui entend participer aux grappes d’innovation qui propulsent son secteur, l’équipe de direction considère le prototypage comme une porte d’entrée à cette occasion. Le projet comprend cinq gages de succès ; l’embauche de neuf employés spécialisés, l’implantation de nouvelles technologies, des avancées en TI (ERP), le développement des compétences des employés actuels et la mise en marché d’une nouvelle marque. La SADC aidera aux couts d’embauche des nouveaux employés.
Résultats : SigmaPoint cherche à devenir une entreprise de 150 millions $ au cours des trois prochaines années. Ce projet est la première étape de ce plan de croissance qui pourrait entrainer la création de nombreux emplois à court terme. Le projet de prototypage aidera à la croissance de l’entreprise et aura des effets économiques importants au chapitre de l’innovation, de la création d’emplois et de la compétitivité mondiale.
Cout du projet : 596 456 $/PDEO 65 000 $

Innovation communautaire

Launch Lab
Sommaire du financement : l’objectif est de soutenir les entrepreneurs et leur entreprise en partenariat avec la SADC Cornwall et les comtés et le Centre d’affaires de Cornwall. Le but est d’être sur place deux jours par mois avec une entreprise en résidence afin de desservir les clients existants et d’attirer de nouveaux clients. Les couts reliés au projet comprennent les déplacements et les frais des consultants. Launch Lab se veut un point de service centralisé pour les nouvelles entreprises technologiques et les entreprises en croissance. Le programme offre une vaste gamme de services, comme l’encadrement et le mentorat personnalisé, les rapports de veille, les ateliers, la formation, etc.
Résultats : offrir de l’encadrement et du mentorat à une diversité de clients. Assurer le suivi de la création et la rétention d’emploi, de l’investissement et du tractage des clients. Collaborer avec des bailleurs de fonds de la région et y aiguiller les clients.
Cout du projet : 100 000 $/PDEO 20 000 $

Akwesasne Area Management

Sommaire du financement : en 2015/16, l’organisme a réalisé une étude du marché du travail auprès de 454 participants. Les résultats de l’enquête ont servi de tremplin à la planification de programmes et de services. Avec l’aide du PDEO, l’organisme compte refaire l’étude et rejoindre 700 participants
Résultats : l’organisme veut embaucher trois nouveaux employés qui travailleront à l’étude. Cette étude servira à la planification d’initiatives stratégiques, de programmes et de services offerts par l’Akwesasne Area Management Board. Pour appuyer ce projet, l’organisme créera un poste budgétaire distinct dans sa prochaine demande de financement.
Cout du projet : 75 000 $/PDEO 30 000 $

All Things Food

Sommaire du financement : ce projet vise la création du « Food and Agriculture Advisory Council » afin de susciter la collaboration vis-à-vis des enjeux et des occasions dans le secteur agricole et agroalimentaire de SDG et Cornwall. Le conseil fera partie d’All Things Food, en partenariat avec les comptés SDG, le développement économique de Cornwall, la Commission de formation de l’Est ontarien, le collège St. Lawrence, et d’autres personnes et organismes du secteur.
Résultats : le conseil permettra aux intervenants du système alimentaire de mieux comprendre les enjeux et l’avenir du secteur dans nos régions rurales, notamment les questions de chaine de valeur. Ce projet s’adressera tant aux petits fermiers qu’aux petits producteurs afin de mettre au point des stratégies pour réduire les pertes, augmenter les achats locaux et la mise en marché de produits locaux.
Cout du projet : 90 075 $/PDEO 16 000 $

Habitat pour l’humanité

Sommaire du financement : l’organisme veut déménager son magasin « ReStore » au centre de Cornwall afin d’attirer une plus grande clientèle. Les heures d’ouverture seront prolongées et du personnel additionnel sera embauché. Ce projet offre une meilleure visibilité, une plus grande accessibilité et la prestation de services à une population élargie.
Résultats : le projet permettra à l’organisme d’étendre ses services et d’augmenter les revenus du Restore, ce dont profitera la collectivité grâce à son programme de construction d’habitations. L’entreprise cherche aussi à offrir des emplois valorisants aux membres de la collectivité.
Cout du projet : 170 000 $/PDEO 20 000 $

© 2016-2019. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement

Cornwall & The Counties Community Futures Development Corporation
Back to All Articles

Approved EODP Projects 2017-2018

Wednesday November 29th, 2017


Business Development Stream

Clean-All
Funding summary: This project aims to invest in “Electrodust”, which is the latest technology in modern air filters.Management, Clean All has noted this upsurge in demand as a significant opportunity to enhance the quality of products offered at their business. The company plans to centralize the manufacturing, marketing and sales.
Outcome: This project will allow Clean All to adapt to changing demand and capitalize on an opportunity to diversify their sales mix and strengthen their filter division. The company aspires to be the leading provider of quality filters in the area. Furthermore, this initiative will create 3 full time, sustainable jobs.
Project cost: $ 130,325 / EODP $ 30,000

Humble Beginning Brewing Company

Funding summary: HBBCo. is currently in the second phase of their launch plan. The company is looking to finalize their facility, obtain required government licensing, marketing and hire one additional full time and two part-time staff members. The brewery is primarily focused on creating a strong brand for their product and hope to offer tours with partnering businesses. They will be focusing on selling growlers instead of regular size bottles or cans in order to differentiate their product.
Outcome: The brewery is designed to contribute to the local tourism economy by offering a quality product and facility that will attract transient consumers to SDG. Ideally, HBBCo. will be developing three quality brews that are complimentary to the SDG area. The principal objective of the project is to establish a recognized brand that will be widely accepted by the local market
Project cost: $ 130,000 / EODP $ 25,000

Ard Ri- Eleanor McGraw

Funding summary: The organization will be establishing a “Yurt” (Four season outdoor rental accommodation) that will allow guests to endeavor a unique Canadian farm experience. Activities such as hiking, cross country skiing and touring will be available on site. The funds provided will be primarily associated with marketing and promotional efforts.
Outcome: This unique project will bring awareness of the area through tourism, commercial properties, and strengthen the interest of agriculture and eco-tourism, while supporting the farming heritage. If the establishment continues to grow as planned, the opportunity for job creation is far beyond the two being created in this phased production.
Project cost: $ 226,626 / EODP $ 10,000

Ridgewood Industries
Funding summary: The purchase of two capital expenditures that will allow the company to achieve annual incremental sales gains of $15M, improve labor efficiency, enhance productivity, increase plant capacity, and ultimately deliver superior value to customers. The eligible costs include two double edgebanders (equipment) and their associated installation.
Outcome: By responding to increasing demands from the U.S. market, increasing efficiency, and ultimately lowering costs, Ridgewood will be able to meet its optimal demand and improve profitability, while creating 7 full time jobs.
Project cost: $ 969,000 / EODP $ 84,000

Cooke Scale
Funding summary: Cooke Scales’ are looking to hire two technicians and an administrator to help transition their recent efforts to grow the company. The objective of this project is to allow the owner to move towards more of a managerial role within Evoweigh and transition the day to day responsibilities to the new Technician. The pillars of this project are job creation and their recent growth opportunities made possible by recent partnerships with Active Scale and their sister company, Evoweigh Inc.
Outcome: This project is expected to ease Cook Scales’ upcoming growth transition. The owners have expressed that the jobs being created are sustainable and should lead to more in the future. The expansion of the company’s talent is vital to their ability to grow at a desired rate.
Project cost: $ 138,520 / EODP $ 30,000

Homestead Organics
Funding summary: The purpose of the project is to install a holding tank and vertical structure in Morrisburg to load bulk trucks. The structure will also include load cells to weigh the contents of the tank in order to precisely match the shipment to the customer’s order and to weigh the product when loading the truck. Furthermore, the bulk shipping tank will improve efficiency when moving other bulk items locally. Currently and in a limited capacity, the Company uses a time-consuming process of holding a product in a bulk receiving bin and then moving it to a truck with the pneumatic grain handling system.
Outcome: The successful execution of this project will result in Homestead Organics’ successfully entering foreign markets, resulting in increased sales, margins and international exposure. The project will also result in additional sales for local farmers in the minimum amount of $745,000, with the 2017 soybean crop alone.
Project cost: $ 69,185 / EODP $ 10,000

Upper Canada Creamery
Funding summary: Upper Canada Creamery is investing in state of the art equipment that will allow them to become the first and only organic dairy plant in Ontario to offer more than two classes of dairy licensing (milk, yogurt, cheese). The creamery currently supplies Upper Canada Village and is looking to continue utilizing their strong relationship in order to further promote the areas local heritage and tourism initiatives. Equipment includes, vats, working tables, presses, curd mill, pumps, etc.
Outcome: Funding will result in addition of two full time positions over two years, the expansion of product lines, and enhancement of their quality control. This will lead to an increase of the profile of local organic farming in SD&G and a potential for future job creation.
Project cost: $ 174,705 / EODP $ 20,000

Bourgon Construction
Funding summary: The company will be purchasing the POS 180 Total station from HILTI which will allow it to quickly and accurately perform a wide variety of layout and measuring applications such as laying out 2D and 3D positions on the jobsite; laying out formwork, positions for excavation and fastening points on floors and ceilings; laying out single and dual slopes and laying out and transferring building control lines. Pairing this sophisticated tool with Hilti’s PROFIS Layout Office and professional training, Bourgon Construction can perform layouts faster and more accurately while dramatically reducing layout costs and services which are currently being outsourced.
Outcome: Bourgon Construction will now be able to more efficiently perform various measuring, layout and surveying functions with the help of this equipment. Having an internal employee manage this function will also prove to increase the company’s ability to manage quality control and cut costs, while collectively creating a high-tech job in the Cornwall area.
Project cost: $ 39,956 / EODP $ 8,000

Morbern
Funding summary: This project is geared towards supporting the costs of the BDC’s Growth Driver Program (3 Year Program). The BDC, hand picks high impact firms across the country, with efforts of advising, consulting and educating executive teams in forms of leadership development coaching, access to strategic management methodology, as well as action plan development and implementation. This guidance and expertise will enhance and further grow one of Cornwall’s most innovative businesses. The specific project that will be aided by the GDP is target towards further expanding into US and international markets and increasing the business’ global reach.
Outcome: This project will allow Morbern to gain access to some of the best executive coaching and mentorship programs available in the country. The company will subsequently continue growing as one of Cornwall’s most powerful and innovative businesses and continue to be a source of high-volume and high-paying employment.
Project cost: $ 200,000 / EODP $ 72,000

Surgeson Electric
Funding summary: The company is looking to implement an ERP system that will allow the integration of the shop floor and the accounting/administrative software which will enable them to increase efficiencies across the company and ultimately, allows them to better understand associated costs and production times. This system also allows the business to implement a rigid quality control protocol and track all testing and workmanship. The funding obtained from the EODP will assist with the purchase and implementation of the ERP system.
Outcome: Implementing the ERP system will allow the business to be more competitive and efficient. The ERP system will serve as the foundation to performing more activities along the value chain “in-house”, such as manufacturing and inspections. This transition will lead to attaining CSA certification for control panel manufacturing, which in turn will increase profitability and the number of jobs the business can create.
Project cost: $ 212,175 / EODP $ 10,000

Sigmapoint
Funding summary: SigmaPoint recently invested $750K in a new production line with technology that specifically allows them to produce prototypes efficiently and competitively. This capital investment was the first step in being able to offer full prototyping services to their current customer base and eventually gain the ability to extend that to prospective customers. This project is aimed to assist the business’ initiative to increase capacity and support future growth. As part of SigmaPoint’s strategic planning and in order to participate within the innovation clusters that are driving their technology industry forward, the management team views this prototyping project as the entrance to this opportunity. The project will feature 5 critical success drivers; the hiring of 9 specialized employees, the implementation of new technologies, IT advancements (ERP), skill development of current employees, and marketing a rebranding initiative. The CFDC would be assisting with labour costs associated with new hires.
Outcome: SigmaPoint is striving to become a $150M company within the next 3 years. This project the first step to this growth plan that could lead to a multitude of jobs being created in the near future. The prototyping project will enable the business’ growth, ultimately allowing significant economic impact in areas such as innovation, job creation and global competition.
Project cost: $ 596,456 / EODP $ 65,000

Community Innovation Stream

Launch Lab
Funding summary: Their objective is to support entrepreneurs and their companies in partnerships with the Cornwall & the Counties CFDC and the Cornwall Business Enterprise Centre. Their target is to be onsite two days per month with one EIR to serve existing clients and attract new clients. The costs related to the project include travel expenses and consultant fees. Launch Lab is a one-stop shop for technology based startups and growing companies. They provide a wide variety of services, such as one-on-one coaching and mentoring, market intelligence reports, workshops and education, etc.
Outcome: Provide coaching and mentoring to a wide variety of clients. Track and report job creation/retention, investment and customer traction. Collaborate and build referral relationships with funding partners in the area.
Project cost: $ 100,000 / EODP $ 20,000

Akwesasne Area Management

Funding summary: In 2015/16 the organization conducted a labour market study that reached 454 participants. The results from the study are integral to their planning of programs and services. They are hoping that with the help of EODP funding, they will be able to refresh this study and reach 700 participants
Outcome: The organization plans on hiring 3 new employees that will work on the study. This study will act as a baseline for the planning of strategic initiatives, programs and the services offered by the Akwesasne Area Management Board. To sustain this project, the organization will be setting a separate budget item in their upcoming funding application.
Project cost: $ 75,000 / EODP $ 30,000

All Things Food
Funding summary: This project aims to establish the “Food and Agriculture Advisory Council” to more collaboratively and effectively address the pressing issues and opportunities if the SDG and Cornwall food and agriculture economy. The Advisory Council will stand as an extension of All Things Food, in partnership with the SDG Counties, Economic Development (City of Cornwall), the Eastern Ontario Training Board, St. Lawrence College, and other key agriculturally focused individuals and associations.
Outcome: The proposed SDG and Cornwall Food and Agriculture Board will allow food system stakeholders to better understand the issues and future of the industry in our rural areas, specifically addressing pressing value chain issues. This project will lend itself to the small scale producers and farmers alike in order to develop strategies to reduce food waste, increase local food purchase and procurement and regional branding and marketing.
Project cost: $ 90,075 / EODP $ 16,000

Habitat for Humanity
Funding summary: The organization is relocating their “ReStore” within the City of Cornwall in order to attract a greater client base. They will also be extending store hours and upstaffing. Enhancing visibility, accessibility and extending services to a larger population are the primary pillars of this project.
Outcome: This project will allow the organization to expand their services and increase revenue from the Restore, thus providing additional services to the community through their Home Build Program. They also hope to continue to create meaningful employment for community members.
Project cost: $ 170,000 / EODP $ 20,000

© 2016-2019. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement