Cornwall & The Counties Community Futures Development Corporation
Retourner à nos articles

Décrocher une offre d’emploi

lundi 15 juin 2015


Le travail autonome et la propriété d’entreprise ne conviennent pas à tous; en fait, la plupart préfèrent obtenir un emploi. Dans la conjoncture économique qui prévaut, ce n’est pas si simple qu’il y semble, surtout pour les jeunes et pour ceux qui cherchent à remplacer un emploi ou une carrière en gestion.

Le processus d’emploi peut être agréable, mais ceux qui sont à la recherche d’un emploi doivent comprendre qu’il peut s’agir d’un processus long et ardu qui comprend recherches, envoi de demandes ou de c.v., tests et entrevues. TIREZ-EN LE MEILLEUR PARTI et METTEZ VOS ATOUTS EN VALEUR en tout temps. Il existe de nombreux protocoles informels qui gouvernent le processus de recherche d’emploi. Dans le marché d’emploi actuel changeant, RESTEZ RÉALISTE quant à vos attentes, demeurez concentré et « vrai », authentique à votre offre, à vos buts et aux résultats que vous recherchez.

  1. Le processus de recrutement et de sélection

    L’embauche est une décision d’affaires sérieuse et importante pour tout organisme. Les employés ajoutent aux couts fixes d’une entreprise, de même qu’à ses responsabilités. Tant les nouvelles entreprises que celles en croissance ont des ressources limitées et l’on doit soupeser l’ajout ou le remplacement d’un employé avec soin.

    La durabilité d’un organisme se mesure à ses pertes et profits ou par rapport à son budget. Le cout d’une embauche inutile ou d’embaucher la mauvaise personne peut avoir un effet nuisible sur la rentabilité d’un organisme.

    Pas étonnant donc qu’avant même d’entreprendre le processus de recrutement, la direction se doit d’articuler clairement ses exigences opérationnelles, ses revenus projetés et ses buts d’affaires et de déterminer le type de compétences requises pour combler ses besoins.

    Tandis que le candidat connait le processus d’entrevue et de sélection, l’employeur y voit plutôt un exercice exhaustif et engagé comportant plusieurs étapes. Il est bon qu’un candidat sache d’où provient le rôle qu’il postule. Du point de vue de l’employeur, les étapes suivantes constituent généralement le processus de recrutement, de sélection et d’embauche :

    1. Repérer le poste vacant et évaluer les besoins
    2. Rédiger des spécifications, une description de poste et les outils requis
    3. Préparer un plan de recrutement en repérant notamment où trouver des candidats qualifiés
    4. Former un comité de recherche ou un panel de sélection
    5. Définir des critères de sélection clairs pour le tri des candidats et la préparation des questions d’entrevue
    6. Afficher le poste et implanter le plan de recrutement
    7. Étudier les demandes et créer une liste des candidats sélectionnés
    8. Faire les entrevues
    9. Sélectionner les finalistes
    10. Faire les vérifications
    11. Faire les tests d’embauche au besoin
    12. Repérer la recrue
    13. Présenter l’offre et vérifier la disponibilité du candidat
    14. Finaliser le recrutement (informer RH/paie, aviser les autres candidats, avis, etc.).
  2. Les employeurs ont des attentes – Ce qui vous décroche l’emploi

    Il va sans dire que l’employeur cherche des compétences de base lorsqu’il veut pourvoir à un poste. Ces compétences dépendront des responsabilités de l’emploi, bien entendu, mais comprendront au moins les exigences suivantes :

    • Éducation et formation
    • Expérience
    • Compétences reliées à l’emploi (techniques, informatiques, interpersonnelles, communication, etc.)

    L’employeur aura généralement défini ses attentes vis-à-vis des candidats dans le processus de demande et d’entrevue. Les intangibles plus difficiles à cerner dans les exigences d’emploi ou le processus d’affichage sont souvent plus difficiles à communiquer dans une lettre de soumission. Quoique ceux-ci varient d’un emploi à l’autre, l’employeur recherchera le plus souvent les caractéristiques suivantes :

    1. Adaptabilité – adéquation
    2. Fiabilité et souplesse
    3. Le désir d’apprendre et d’exceller
    4. Initiative
    5. Énergie
    6. Bon jugement
    7. La capacité de travailler en groupe et de façon autonome.

    Selon le poste, l’employeur cherchera à combler des critères implicites et explicites reliés aux caractéristiques énumérées ci-haut (et d’autres possiblement) et tiendra compte aussi de la culture de l’entreprise et de normes de savoir-être souhaitées.

    Cela peut sembler énorme au début, mais il est encourageant et réconfortant de savoir qu’il existe certaines attentes d’un poste à l’autre et d’un employeur au prochain (à des degrés divers, certes) qui affichent plus de ressemblance que de différence à travers le marché. Un directeur de rayon, par exemple, devra être fiable, étant donné qu’il sera appelé à fermer le magasin et à gérer le stock; on n’en demanderait pas autant d’un commis, qui doit tout de même être fiable à d’autres égards.

  3. Le processus d’entrevue

    Bien que l’entrevue fait partie intégrante du processus de demande, les candidats doivent comprendre qu’il s’agit d’une occasion de vendre leurs habiletés et de faire valoir aux recruteurs leur capacité à joindre l’organisme.

    À l’entrevue, mettre ses atouts en valeur se traduit par :

    1. Que ce ne soit que pour renforcer votre confiance et montrer votre respect, adopter une tenue vestimentaire plus classique
    2. En apprendre le plus possible sur l’entreprise et son marché par l’observation, les recherches et les ressources et références en ligne (que fait-elle? Est-ce un chef de file dans son domaine? Quels sont ses concurrents?)
    3. Être prêt à démontrer que vous connaissez l’entreprise, son historique, ses objectifs, les directeurs de service et dirigeants, etc.
    4. Établir un rapport avec l’interrogateur
    5. Écouter attentivement – ne présumez pas que vous comprenez tout ce que vous dit l’interrogateur et cherchez des indices
    6. Surveiller son vocabulaire – le choix de mots doit être clair et approprié – les aptitudes de communication sont très importantes et jouent énormément dans l’impression que vous laissez
    7. Ne pas trop parler. Si vous pérorez sur vous-même, vous pourriez passer à côté de la question et ainsi ne pas montrer que vous êtes qualifié pour le poste
    8. Être avenant et charmant (sans exagération) – l’interrogateur ne devrait pas avoir à vous tirer les vers du nez. Soyez plaisant.
    9. Être AMICAL!

Lorsque vous vous présentez, tenez compte du style et de la personnalité de l’interrogateur et prenez soin de bien vous représenter. La meilleure approche est de rester authentique. Les personnalités varient énormément alors la recherche d’emploi, cela consiste aussi à trouver la meilleure correspondance entre les besoins de l’employeur et vos qualités. Si vous êtes qualifié pour le poste, vous présentez honnêtement et croyez fermement que vous avez l’étoffe de l’emploi, l’entrevue devrait bien se dérouler … et vous cliquerez mieux avec l’interrogateur.

La recherche d’emploi peut s’avérer un processus exigeant et parfois prolongé. Il vaut mieux planifier et gérer le processus et vos attentes. N’oubliez pas de vous mettre en valeur et de REMERCIER l’employeur potentiel et l’interrogateur. Que vous vous attendiez ou non à obtenir l’emploi, c’est une question de courtoisie et de responsabilité.

© 2016-2019. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement

Cornwall & The Counties Community Futures Development Corporation
Back to All Articles

Landing the Job Offer

Monday June 15th, 2015


Being self-employed or going into business isn’t for everyone – in fact, most are more comfortable with getting a job. In the current economy, this may not be as simple as it sounds; particularly for young people and for those looking to replace a pre-existing management job or career.

The process of landing a job can be pleasant – but applicants should know that it can also be a long and arduous process typically comprising of research, submitting of applications and/or resumes, and participating in testing and interviews. MAKE THE BEST OF IT and PUT YOUR BEST FOOT FORWARD at all times. There are many unwritten protocols that tend to govern the overall job search process. In the current, rapidly changing employment market, KEEP A REALISTIC PERSPECTIVE on what to expect and stay focused and “real”, remaining authentic to your offering, goal, and desired outcome.

  1. The Recruitment & Selection Process

    Choosing to hire is a serious and significant business decision for any organization. Employees add considerable costs to a company’s overhead, as well as to its potential liabilities. Start-ups and going concerns alike have limited resources – and every additional or replacement employee must be carefully considered.

    An organization’s sustainability is either measured according to its profits and losses or in comparison to its prescribed budget. As such, the cost of unnecessary hiring and/or hiring the wrong person can be detrimental to an organization’s bottom line.

    It’s not surprising therefore that before even engaging in the recruitment process, management clearly articulates the organization’s operational requirements, projected revenues and business goals and determines also the types of skills and competencies required to meet those needs.

    While a job candidate is reasonably more familiar with the interview and selection processes, an employer views the recruitment and selection process as a more comprehensive and involved exercise having a number of steps. It is beneficial for a candidate to understand the origins of the prospect role that they are applying for recognizing that the following steps generally constitute, from the prospective of the employer, the main elements in the recruitment, selection and hiring process:

    1. Identify vacancy and evaluate need;
    2. Develop specifications, position description, and supporting tools;
    3. Develop recruitment plan – identifying in particular how to source qualified candidates;
    4. Strike search committee and/or selection panel;
    5. Create well-defined selection criteria for use in screening candidates and preparing interview questions;
    6. Post position and implement recruitment plan;
    7. Review applications and develop candidate short list;
    8. Conduct interviews;
    9. Identify finalist(s);
    10. Perform reference check(s);
    11. Administer pre-employment testing and checks as appropriate;
    12. Identify hire;
    13. Extend offer and secure candidate availability; and,
    14. Finalize recruitment activity (i.e. inform HR/payroll, notify other candidates, announce, etc.).
  2. Employers Have Expectations – What Gets You the Job

    It goes without saying that potential employers will be looking for core competencies when attempting to fill a vacancy. Of course, these will be dictated by the responsibilities of the job and will comprise of requirements that will include at a minimum such attributes as:

    • Education and/or training;
    • Experience;
    • Job-related skills (ex. technical, computer, interpersonal, communication, etc.)

    Importantly also, employers will typically have formalized what they expect candidates to demonstrate through the application or interview process. Things that may not be necessarily be revealed by job specification or posting process – and things that are often difficult to communicate by a candidate through formal written submission. While these will vary from one job to another, it is reasonable that a prospective employer will wish to see in its candidates such characteristics as:

    1. Adaptability – Fit;
    2. Reliability & responsiveness;
    3. A desire to learn and to excel;
    4. Initiative;
    5. Energy;
    6. Sound judgement; and,
    7. Ability to work autonomously and in groups.

    Not intended to represent an exhaustive list, different jobs and different employers will be looking to satisfy implicit and explicit criteria related to the above (and possibly more) and will be guided also by the work environment’s culture and desired ‘soft skills’ standards or norms.

    Perhaps a little overwhelming at first blush, it is encouraging and comforting to acknowledge that there exists some convention to what is being sought from position to position and from one employer to another – perhaps to different degrees, but nevertheless having an almost common resemblance through the market. For example, a department manager will be expected to be reliable due to responsibility for such duties as store lock-up or inventory management; but that hardly implies that a first-line customer service associate need not be reliable – just reliable in a different context.

  3. The Interview Process

    While germane to whole job application process, candidates need appreciate that an interview is a genuine opportunity to sell your abilities and to impress upon the recruiters your suitability to join the organization.

    Putting your best foot forward in the interview process means:

    1. If for no other reason than to bolster your confidence and to show respect – “DRESS UP RATHER THAN DRESS DOWN”;
    2. Learning as much as you can about the company and its market through observation, investigation, and online resources/references (what do they do? are there leaders in the field, and if so who are they? what about the competition?);
    3. Making sure that you are prepared to demonstrate that you have researched the company and know its history, its future plans, its department heads or leaders, etc.;
    4. Establishing rapport with the interviewer(s);
    5. Listening very carefully – Do not assume that you comprehend everything the interviewer is saying and do look for queues and clues;
    6. Being aware of your vocabulary – make sure that your choice of words is clear and appropriate – communication skills are extremely important and count significantly toward the impression made;
    7. Not talking unnecessarily – Less is sometimes more – If you go on about yourself, you may not be answering the real question and may fail to demonstrate that you are qualified for the role; and,
    8. Being forthcoming and charming (within reason) – don’t make the interviewer chase the answers and do be engaging.
    9. Being AMICABLE!

When presenting yourself, be mindful of the interviewer’s style or personality, and be mindful also of how you represent who you really are. The best approach is to be your authentic self. Personalities vary widely, so in your job search, it’s more about finding an appropriate match between the employer’s needs and your qualities. If you are qualified for the opening, present genuinely, and believe wholesomely that you are the right fit, the interview will go much better….and you will more likely hit it off with the interviewer.

The job search can be a challenging and sometimes lengthy process. It’s therefore better to plan and to manage the process and your expectations. Don’t forget to always put your best foot forward and to THANK prospective employers and interviewers; whether you expect to get the job or not – it’s the courteous and responsible thing to do.

© 2016-2019. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement