Cornwall & The Counties Community Futures Development Corporation
Retourner à nos articles

L’ABC du prêt

mardi 2 juin 2015


Comme pour les banques et les institutions financières, la Société d’aide au développement des collectivités Cornwall et les Comtés (SADC) examine plusieurs critères lorsqu’une personne ou une entreprise fait une demande de prêt à l’entreprise ou d’investissement en actions.

Ne vous en faites pas, je ne les repasserai pas tous ici; je vais plutôt m’attarder aux plus importants sur lesquels nous nous penchons au début du processus – généralement avant de mettre du temps à élaborer des plans d’affaires et des projections financières.

Sachez que, par mesure d’efficacité, les prêteurs suivent généralement une hiérarchie intuitive pour évaluer l’admissibilité : si le demandeur ne répond pas à un critère de la hiérarchie, il est inutile de passer au suivant (souvent moins important) et la demande est rejetée.

Lorsqu’elle évalue les demandes de particuliers, d’entreprises en démarrage et d’entreprises établies qui cherchent à croitre, la SADC s’appuie, dans l’ordre, sur les critères suivants :

Crédit personnel

Le crédit personnel, comme le pointage Beacon FICO, est généralement considéré comme le principal critère dans le crédit aux particuliers et peut aussi largement influencer les prêts à l’entreprise. Quoique le pointage Beacon d’Equifax soit reconnu au Canada, on peut aussi se fier aux pointages Experian/Fair Isaac et Empirica de TransUnion, toutes des agences d’évaluation du crédit réputées.

Pour le prêteur, le pointage de crédit personnel peut refléter l’historique ou les habitudes de paiement d’un individu auprès de ses créanciers actuels et passés. Le rapport produit par une agence d’évaluation du crédit présente au prêteur la ligne de conduite du demandeur et sert à évaluer sa capacité à répondre à ses obligations vis-à-vis du prêt en tenant compte de ses autres obligations dans le futur. Il va sans dire que les demandeurs dont le dossier de crédit est mauvais et comporte des paiements retardés, des recouvrements, des paiements manquants et une faillite seront scrutés de plus près et leur demande aura plus de chance d’être rejetée.

Stabilité

La stabilité peut être évaluée de diverses façons et donne une idée de la position du demandeur en société. Quoique la stabilité puisse être démontrée dans plusieurs contextes, les plus courants sont :

  • Durée de la profession ou de l’emploi actuel – un aspect important de la stabilité est la durée de l’emploi ou de la profession. Plus longue sera cette durée, plus l’on considérera la personne comme étant établie professionnellement et moins encline à être au chômage ou sous-employée. Dans le cadre d’une demande de prêt, l’emploi et les revenus provenant d’un travail autonome ou d’une entreprise assurent les revenus qui servent à rembourser la dette. Bref, la perte d’un emploi ou l’incapacité à gagner un revenu augmentent la vulnérabilité et le risque de faire défaut de paiement. Le prêteur est rassuré que des paiements réguliers et ponctuels seront faits lorsque le demandeur a un emploi ou une situation professionnelle stable. .
  • Logement – le logement d’un demandeur joue un rôle important dans l’évaluation de la stabilité. Quoique ce ne soit pas toujours le cas, un propriétaire est souvent considéré comme étant plus prévisible et ayant plus de responsabilités qu’un locataire et moins de chance de déménager. Le fait d’être propriétaire d’une maison influence positivement l’évaluation de la stabilité.
  • Durée du séjour à l’adresse actuelle – parfois négligée par le demandeur, la durée du séjour à l’adresse actuelle ou précédente influence positivement l’évaluation de la stabilité. Quoiqu’il y ait des exceptions, les statistiques et les analyses révèlent que les personnes qui demeurent depuis une courte période à leur adresse actuelle (ou précédente) sont plus enclines à déménager et à abandonner la dette. Selon la situation, le fait d’avoir vécu à la même adresse pendant une longue période indique la stabilité et améliore les chances du demandeur d’obtenir du crédit. .

Ratio d’endettement

Le ratio d’endettement, un indicateur financier courant, représente le ratio ou la proportion de paiements mensuels en tenant compte du prêt demandé par rapport au revenu mensuel brut. Un ratio acceptable oscille entre 35 % à 50 % selon le type et les modalités de financement. À noter, l’approbation est fortement influencée par les deux premiers critères de crédit personnel et de stabilité, mais un ratio d’endettement très élevé peut entrainer le rejet d’une demande de prêt, peu importe le pointage de crédit du demandeur ou sa stabilité.

Valeur nette

La valeur nette ou l’avoir net représente le capital de l’individu ou du groupe. Il s’agit simplement de la différence entre l’actif et le passif (dette) et se calcule en soustrayant le passif de l’actif. Un résultat faible ou négatif entrainera généralement le rejet d’une demande. Les actifs inclus dans ce calcul sont les propriétés tangibles comme l’immobilier, les intérêts commerciaux vérifiables et les investissements; de 50 % à 80 % de leur valeur sera retenue selon le niveau de risque associé. Dans certains cas, des biens durables comme des automobiles et autres véhicules peuvent être ajoutés au calcul quoiqu’il s’agit d’actifs moins attrayants puisqu’ils perdent de la valeur avec le temps. Le principal actif de la plupart des gens demeure une résidence; il s’agit cependant d’actifs peu liquides; vendre une maison pour payer des dettes représente un dernier recours. On ne peut donc prendre une décision en se basant seulement sur la valeur d’un individu ou d’un groupe sans tenir compte de ce critère. La valeur d’une résidence révèle plus la richesse d’un demandeur qu’une garantie de liquidité ou de solvabilité. Si une personne ou un groupe possède un actif immobilier, cela influencera grandement et favorablement sa demande de crédit, non pas parce que la propriété peut servir de caution, mais plutôt parce que cela permet au demandeur d’obtenir du crédit sur son hypothèque, ce qui peut l’aider à respecter ses obligations financières.

Emploi et situation personnelle

  • Situation professionnelle – On tient compte de la profession dans une demande de crédit. Les professionnels comme les médecins, les avocats, les comptables et les ingénieurs seront vus d’un bon œil, tout comme d’autres professionnels de la santé, les enseignants, les gens de métier, les pompiers et les policiers. Lorsque l’emploi est plus précaire comme chez les employeurs autonomes ou saisonniers ou lorsqu’il est plus difficile de se trouver un emploi après une mise à pied, comme dans le cas de l’industrie, ces données seront analysées pour établir la résilience économique et déterminer le niveau de risque.
  • Situation personnelle – Quoique cela peut sembler discriminatoire, l’âge et la situation familiale sont aussi soupesés. Cela se défend au fait qu’il ne s’agit pas d’un jugement personnel, mais d’un reflet de la réalité du demandeur. Le risque de faire défaut de paiement est beaucoup plus élevé chez les personnes de moins de 30 ans que chez celles de plus de 50 ans. Ceux de moins de 20 ans posent le risque le plus élevé. De même, les personnes mariées représentent un meilleur risque que les célibataires puisqu’elles ont la possibilité de mettre leurs ressources en commun pour faire face aux revers.

Ensemble, ces caractéristiques donnent une idée de la possibilité de financement, de l’existence de valeurs ou de garanties et aident à établir le taux d’intérêt. Pour un prêt personnel, une marge de crédit ou autre prêt où la décision ne relève que de l’évaluation du demandeur, les modalités et le taux d’intérêt varieront selon les caractéristiques du candidat vis-à-vis des critères ci-haut mentionnés. À noter que dans le cas de cartes de crédit, ces critères ne portent pas autant de poids puisque le taux d’intérêt est déjà assez élevé qui réduit le risque de perte financière pour les institutions. Le même principe prévaut sur une hypothèque ou le financement d’un véhicule – toute garantie peut servir à baisser la barre d’approbation

Règle générale, les prêteurs recherchent la constance des paiements sur la dette et examineront la fiabilité de l’emprunteur, la régularité des paiements, la capacité de paiement du demandeur et finalement sa capacité à recouvrer les paiements en souffrance.

La SADC vous encourage à tenir compte de ces situations personnelles lorsque vous envisagez de faire une demande de prêt à l’entreprise et à prendre rendez-vous avec un conseiller en affaires SADC si vous pensez vous lancer en affaires ou prendre de l’expansion.

© 2016-2019. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement

Cornwall & The Counties Community Futures Development Corporation
Back to All Articles

The Basics of Lending

Tuesday June 2nd, 2015


As is the case with banks and financial institutions, there are many criteria that the Cornwall and The Counties Community Futures Development Corporation (CFDC) examines when an individual or business makes application for a business loan or equity investment.

Don’t be discouraged; the intent is not to discuss them all here, but rather, to provide a sense of the more important ones that we look at early in the process – ideally before going through the effort of constructing elaborate business plans and financial projections.

Prospective borrowers should know also that in the spirit of efficiency, it is not uncommon for lenders to follow an intuitive hierarchy in assessing eligibility, where if one criteria in the hierarchy is unsatisfactorily met or unfulfilled, the next, lesser important one might typically not be pursued and the application declined.

In working with individuals, start-ups, and established businesses seeking to grow, the CFDC will typically and in the order presented be influenced by:

Personal Credit

The personal credit, such as the Beacon FICO scores, is generally held to be the most important criteria in consumer credit and can likewise have significant importance in business lending. While the Beacon score at Equifax is highly recognized in Canada, reliance can also be placed on the Experian/Fair Isaac Score at Experian and the Empirica score at TransUnion; all of which are recognized credit reporting agencies.

Simply stated, personal credit scores can be interpreted as the payment history or habit of an individual with their past and current creditors. The report as generated by a credit reporting agency represents to a prospective lender a trajectory of the applicant’s behaviour and serves to enhance the predictability of the applicant’s ability to satisfy payment obligations on an anticipated loan – taking into consideration also the projection of all reported obligations. Quite naturally, applicants with bad credit including events such as tardy payments, collections, severe missed payments, and bankruptcy will attract increased scrutiny and possibility of decline.

Stability

Stability can be assessed in a number of ways and generally intends to provide some insight into the individual’s establishment in society. While stability can be demonstrated and considered in a number of contexts, the most popular include:

  • Time period at occupation or job – An important aspect of stability is the length of time in a job or vocation. The longer the time spent by an individual, the more they will be seen as professionally settled and less likely to become unemployed or under-employed. In borrowing circumstances, employment and patterns of gainful self-employment or business, assure income; the main source of debt servicing. In short, the loss of a job or the inability to earn income increases vulnerability and the risks of defaulting. Regular and timely payments are deemed more certain by a lender when a person has job or occupational stability.
  • Housing arrangement – The living arrangements of an applicant play an important role in assessing stability. While it may not always be the case, a homeowner for example is seen as being more predictable and as having more responsibility when compared to a tenant and is seen to be at less risk of moving away. Being a homeowner is seen as positive by a lender in assessing stability.
  • Time period at present address – Sometimes overlooked by applicants, the period that an individual has resided at a current or previous address positively affects assessed stability. While exceptions can present, statistics and analytics generally hold that individuals having lived a short period of time at their current (or previous) address are more likely to move away and to abandon debt. Subject to objective judgement, and weighted as the circumstances may dictate, having lived at the same address for an extended period of time establishes stability and improves a lender’s prospect of extending credit.

Debt Ratio

The debt ratio, a commonly applied financial ratio, is simply the ratio or relationship between monthly debt payments inclusive of the new financing sought relative to monthly gross income. The limits of an acceptable debt ratio will typically be in the range of 35% to 50% depending on nature and terms of financing. Importantly, acceptability is heavily influenced by the first two criteria of personal credit and stability respectively and an excessively high debt ratio can cause a loan request to be declined irrespective of the strength of credit score or stability of the applicant.

Net Value

Net value, or net worth, is the financial equity of an individual or entity. It is represented simply as the difference between assets and liabilities (debt) and is calculated by subtracting liabilities from assets – where a weak or negative net figure will typically disqualify an application. Assets taken in consideration include such tangible property as real estate holdings, verifiable business holdings, and investments; where up to 50% to 80% of their value will be considered dependent upon risk level. In some instances, durable goods, cars, and other vehicles can be considered assets, although they are admittedly deemed less appealing given that they constantly depreciate or devaluate with time. The biggest asset for most individuals is normally residential real estate; however, it should be noted that these assets are the least liquid; where selling the house to pay debt really constitutes a source of last resort. Therefore, a decision cannot be based solely on the net value of an individual or entity without due consideration of the aforementioned criteria. That is, the value of residential real estate, should be more of an indicator of how deep pocketed an applicant is, than as an absolute guarantee of liquidity or credit worthiness. If an individual or entity has good equity in realty property, it will weight considerably and favourably in a credit application not necessarily because the property can be included as a guarantee, but rather because untapped equity always grants someone the possibility of obtaining additional indebtedness on the mortgage, which can help remedy financial obligations.

Occupation and Personal Circumstances

  • Professional Status – Occupation is taken into consideration in a credit application. Professionals such as physicians, lawyers, accountants and engineers will attract favourable consideration, as too will others such as allied health professionals, teachers, licensed tradespeople, firefighters, and police. Where there is lack of predictability of work such as the case may be for self- employed and seasonal workers, or where it is difficult to gain employment after job loss, such as the case may be in manufacturing, said characterizations shall be assessed in establishing economic resilience and in determining lending risk.
  • Personal Status – While it may be considered discriminatory, such conditions as age and marital status will be taken into consideration. It is defendable however in that such characterization is not motivated by personal judgement, rather by the realities of the applicant. For example, the chances of default are much higher for those under 30 years of age than those over 50 years of age. Meanwhile those under the age of 20 years have been revealed as the highest risk cohort. Likewise, married individuals will be seen as less exposed to risk than single individuals given their ability to pool resources and to jointly shoulder hardship.

Taken together, these attributes help shape the prospect of securing financing, the identification of security or collateral, and the determination of the interest rate. In the case of personal loan, line of credit or other loan where the decision is based only on the individual applicant, the conditions and the interest rate will fluctuate with the responsiveness of the candidate’s profile to the afore-described criteria. It is worth noting that in the case of credit cards, these criteria will not weigh as importantly since the interest rate is already relatively high, reducing some risk of monetary loss for institutions. The same principle may likewise be applied on a mortgage or the financing of a vehicle –where collateral can serve to lower the acceptance threshold.

In general, lending institutions are looking for consistency of payments on the debt and will consequently look at the reliability of the borrower, expected regularity of payments, applicant’s payment capacity, and lastly, the lender’s ability to recover missing payments in case of default.

The CFDC encourages you to take these personal conditions into consideration when contemplating a business loan and to make an appointment with a CFDC Business Advisor if starting or growing your business is right for you.

© 2016-2019. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement